Oreo Brownies

There’s a new BBC cookery show called ‘Baking Made Easy’ hosted by Lorraine Pascale and she has a lot of interesting recipes I want to try out. The first I’ve attempted is her brownies with Oreo chunks, which are really, really gorgeous.

This is a recipe that I will have to share with my brother at some point because he is even more of an Oreo addict than I am; he also makes brilliant Oreo milkshakes! Can you imagine Oreo milkshakes with an Oreo brownie to go with it? Sounds like ridiculously unhealthy snack heaven!

Brownies with squidge and crunch

You can find the recipe for Lorraine Pascale’s Cookies and Cream Fudge Brownies on the BBC Food Website. I think her instructions are probably better that any I could reproduce and there’s also currently a video from the show that talks you through the recipe. I hadn’t really heard much about Lorraine Pascale before watching this show but I get the feeling that she is going to be my go to celebrity chef from now on. Unlike other food shows, I find that almost everything she has presented so far is something that I want to try out for myself. So hopefully I’ll keep you updated with more recreations!

I did make a few small changes from her recipe. Firstly, I used just 3 eggs instead of 3 eggs and 2 yolks. The only reason for this was that I was running low on eggs. Secondly, I used slightly fewer Oreos because I wanted to save some to eat later. And the brownies were still delicious so apparently no harm done 😀

Complete grating of the chocolate also isn’t necessary, as you can see…

Grated and small chunks

I baked at 180°for 30 minutes. And they came out of the oven looking like this…

Look at that amazing glossy sheen!

Your instinct is probably to assume that the middle isn’t cooked, and keep it in the oven for longer – but remember, these are brownies and the gooeyness is what makes them so mouth meltingly addictive. You want a little, but not too much wibble in the centre when you take it out.

Some tips for ending up with well presented brownies:

  • Leave the pan alone for about 10 minutes before you lift up the paper overhangs and place the brownie layer on a wire rack so that the mixture has time to settle before you start moving it around.
  • You then want to stay as far away from the smell as possible and allow the brownie layer to cool completely before you start to cut it up to avoid too much crumbling and stickiness.
  • Another small note is that you should try to bury the Oreo chucks in the uncooked mixture strategically so that you can cut the brownies easily into even squares. My brownie pieces ended up being different sizes as they were difficult to cut without crumbling apart due to my haphazard Oreo crumble.

Even with my lazy shortcuts in following the original recipe, I have to admit that these tasted so good that I hoarded more for myself than giving them out for other people to try. Maybe I’ll whip up another batch in a few weeks and try to share more…

Maybe.

2 responses to “Oreo Brownies

Leave a Reply

